Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 22nd, 2008

clementine-clafouti2.jpg

I happened to be reading the NY Times last week when I came upon this article about clementine clafouti. As you can see from my blog banner, and as you have already gathered from this post, I am a real fan of clafouti. I had never even heard of clementine clafouti before this, so, of course, I had to give it a try. I simply followed my dairy-free instincts, and the results were heavenly. With the cherry clafouti, I used almond milk; for this clementine clafouti, I instead used soy cream. Both splendid results. Enjoy!

Clementine clafouti

1 tablespoon plus 1/2 cup sugar

6 clementines, peeled, separated, and as much white pith removed as you can

a pinch of salt

3 large eggs

1- 1/4 cups soy cream

1/2 cup flour

powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease a 10-inch diameter glass pie dish; sprinkle with 1 tablespoon sugar. Scatter the clementines evenly over the bottom of the dish.

Using an electric mixer, beat eggs, salt, and remaining 1/2 cup sugar in medium bowl until well blended. Add the soy cream and beat to blend. Sift flour into egg mixture and beat until smooth. Pour the mixture over the clementines. Bake until set and knife inserted into center comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Cool completely.

Can be made 6 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature. Lightly dust clafouti with powdered sugar and serve.

clementine-clafouti1.jpg

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

