Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 15th, 2008

I was visiting the Equal Opportunity Kitchen the other day when I came across this recipe for stuffed turkey scallopini. It sounded sooo good I simply had to try it.  Giz, one of the blog’s co-authors, so adeptly explains the preparation of this dish, and this is only enhanced with some really great photos of the whole process. So well done!

I made a few adaptations to the original recipe, starting off with the turkey. I couldn’t get any in the market, so I used chicken breasts instead. Also, in keeping with my dairy-free cooking, I substituted soy parmesan and soy mozzarella where the recipe called for the real thing. All I can tell you is that this recipe rocks! Very very yummy. Enjoy!

Stuffed chicken scallopini

4 boneless chicken breasts, flayed and flattened out

1 heaping tablespoon minced garlic

1 heaping tablespoon dijon mustard

fresh thyme

kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

1/2 cup seasoned breadcrumbs and 1/4 cup soy parmesan, mixed together

2 tablespoons olive oil

8 asparagus spear cut to fit

6 thin slices soy mozzarella cheese

Mix together the garlic, mustard, fresh thyme and olive oil, to make a paste.

Smear this paste on one side of the breasts; add kosher salt and pepper.

Place mozzarella cheese and 2 asparagus spears in the center and roll up scallopini style.

Smear the outside with more paste, and sprinkle on a little more pepper, then roll in the breadcrumb/soy parmesan cheese mixture.

Lightly grease pan with olive oil. Place the four scallopinis in the pan, and bake uncovered at 375 degrees F for  about 30 minutes, until golden brown.

I served this with roasted brussel sprouts and roasted sweet potato spears.

Read Full Post »

Even though I’m an omnivore, I love eating vegetarian, and so do a lot of other bloggers. There’s a great veggie blog carnival going on at SmarterFitter right now. Stop by and say hi, and check out a really great collection of recipes.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

