Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 20th, 2008

So last week, I made this dynamite Sausage & Egg Pizza Tart, and, I confess, I am still on a bit of a pizza jag right now. One of the comments I received on the pizza recipe was from Monica, who runs a fitness website. She recommended a great looking Pizza Fiorentina, which can be made dairy-free. Okay, now you’re talkin’ my language. I tried it tonight, with excellent results. You may recognize a familiar ingredient – the addition of the egg as a topping on the pizza. Doesn’t that look great? You really must to try it – it’s a wonderful pizza topping. This time I used a ready-made pizza dough instead of frozen puff pastry - all I had to do was roll it and then add my toppings. Enjoy! (btw, I think I liked the sausage and egg pizza better!)

Pizza Fiorentina

1 ready-made pizza dough (I used whole-wheat)

6 tablespoons pizza sauce

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 onions, chopped

1 10-ounce package of baby spinach

1 tablespoon chopped cilantro

1 tablespoon chopped parsley

salt and pepper, to taste

several generous handfuls of shredded soy parmesan cheese

2 eggs

several shakes of Italian seasoning

2 tablespoons blanched almond slivers

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Sprinkle a little cornmeal on your rolling surface, and then roll out your pizza dough. Carefully lift and place in your pizza pan. Spread the pizza sauce over the dough.

In a large saute pan, heat the olive oil and saute the onions until soft. Add the spinach, cilantro, and parsley, and heat until the spinach is softened and wilted.  Season with salt and pepper, and spread over the pizza.

Sprinkle the soy cheese over the vegetables, and leave two hollows for the eggs. Break in the eggs, sprinkle with a little Italian seasoning, and sprinkle the almonds around the top.

Bake for 12 – 15 minutes, until the eggs are just set but not hardened. The whites should be done but the yolks should be a little runny. Serve immediately.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

