Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 6th, 2008

I’m not sure where I found this recipe on the internet, so I feel bad that I can’t give credit where credit is due. But actually, this was another dish that didn’t quite hit me in the right spot. I tweaked it a little from the original, adding chicken, and utilizing soy parmesan instead of the real thing, but I really don’t think that my adaptations gave this recipe a slightly funny taste. I don’t know if it was the wine? or the nutmeg? or exactly what. It looked SO GOOD, but like I said, something was not quite right. Another one to continue working on.

Toasted orzo with chicken, peas, and soy parmesan

2 tablespoons margarine

1 onion, finely chopped

3/4 tablespoons salt

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 pound orzo

3/4 cup dry white wine

3 1/2 cups chicken broth

10 ounces frozen peas

2 ounces soy parmesan

1 cup cooked chicken, diced

pinch nutmeg

freshly ground pepper

Heat the margarine in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the onion and salt, and cook, stirring frequently, until the onion has softened and is beginning to brown.

Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the orzo and cook, stirring frequently, until most of the orzo is lightly browned and golden.

Off heat, add the wine and chicken broth. Return to medium high heat and bring to boil. Reduce heat and continue to simmer, stirring occasionally, until all the liquid has been absorbed and the orzo is tender (about 10-15 minutes). Stir in the peas, parmesan, chicken, nutmeg, and pepper to taste. Let the skillet stand off heat until the peas are bright green, about 2 minutes. Adjust seasoning with salt and serve. Makes 4 servings.

 

Read Full Post »

