Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 16th, 2008

Another hot day in the ‘hood here, and nothing spoke to me more than having a refreshing salad. This is another recipe from Molly Katzen that in all the years that I’ve owned this cookbook, I’ve never tried it. What a delicious, addicting dish this is. It’s quite easy to make – no exotic ingredients, and I love using my creative instincts to create a masterpiece platter. I made only slight modifications from the original. I would also imagine that this would taste quite good with chicken or shrimp additions. A beautiful presentation and even better to eat. Enjoy!

Delightful Thai salad

the dressing:

6 tablespoons peanut butter

1 cup boiling water

4 tablespoons cider vinegar

1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3 medium cloves garlic, minced

crushed red pepper, to taste

2 teaspoons lime juice

The rest:

1 medium head romaine lettuce, torn into bite-sized pieces

1 medium carrot, shredded

1 small bell pepper, in thin strips

1 small cucumber, peeled, seeded, sliced

2 medium tomatoes, in bite-sized pieces

2 medium potatoes, boiled and sliced

3 hard boiled eggs, cut into wedges

1 container of tofu, sliced or diced (I used savory 5-spice)

a small handful of each: minced fresh cilantro, mint, and basil

a handful or two of mung bean sprouts

squeezable wedges of lemon or lime

For the dressing: Place the peanut butter in a small bowl. Whisk in the water and beat until well combined. Stir in the remaining ingredients.

The rest: Pile up everything in a provocative yet compelling arrangement (these are Molly’s words – I just love them!). Drizzle the dressing on top. Makes 6 servings.

Read Full Post »

