Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 21st, 2008

One of the food blogs I truly enjoy reading is David Lebovitz’ Living the Sweet Life in Paris. Not only is he living in the biggest foodie capital of the world, but he’s funny, too, and I love his photos and recipes. When I saw this coconut ice cream recipe, I just knew it had non-dairy possibilities for me. His original recipe called for heavy cream; I substituted soy cream. He used cane sugar; I used plain old white sugar. (his was actually an adaptation from a recipe by Nicole Stich). Anyway, the results were fabulous for me – I absolutely LOVED this ice cream, and highly recommend it for the lactose-intolerant. The saffron embued in it a most beautiful golden hue, and I served it in an old teacup from my grandmother and mother. Enjoy!

Coconut ice cream with saffron

2/3 cup soy cream

1 cup coconut milk

1/4 cup sugar

scant 1/2 teaspoon saffron threads

In a medium saucepan, bring all the ingredients to a boil.

Reduce the heat and simmer gently for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat, and chill the mixture thoroughly.

Once chilled, freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions. Once churned, be sure to scrape any saffron threads clinging to the dasher back in to the ice cream. Makes 1 pint.

Read Full Post »

