Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 23rd, 2008

I’m a big seitan fan. I think it’s a totally under-utilized and under-appreciated source of protein. But it must be prepared right. This recipe looked good, but in my experience, when cooking with seitan, you usually need to properly season it. The pot roast sauce tasted great, but I found the seitan’s bland flavor to come through a little to strong. I think the next time I make this, I’ll season and saute or grill the seitan first, to add some depth of flavor to the seitan. Maybe also add some big cut veggies, like potatoes and carrots. Hmm, I’ll have to experiment.

Seitan pot roast

2 teaspoons canola oil

1 large onion, thinly sliced

1 1/2 cups tomato sauce

1 16-ounce can jellied cranberry sauce

1 tablespoon prepared horseradish

1 teaspoon dry mustard

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1/4 cup vegetable stock with 1 tablespoon soy sauce

16 ounces (2 packages) seitan, drained and sliced 1/4″ thick

Heat a non-stick Dutch oven, add the oil and the onion and saute over medium heat for about 5 minutes, til the onion starts to soften.

Add the tomato sauce, cranberry sauce, horseradish, dry mustard, vinegar, and stock/soy sauce. Raise the heat and bring to a hard boil. Lower the heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes.

Add the seitan, lower the heat, and cook, covered, for another 10 minutes. Makes 4 servings.

Read Full Post »

