Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 2nd, 2010

I made lots of chicken soup this weekend, and I’m left with lots of leftover chicken. I was inspired to make this salad from this recipe, and I found that you really have a lot of jiggle room as to what you want to add and how much. So here’s my version. We loved it.

Curried leftover chicken salad

1-2 pounds cooked chicken, torn into bite-sized pieces

4-5 tablespoons low-fat mayonnaise

1-2 tablespoons curry powder

salt and pepper, to taste

1 green onion, thinly sliced

1/2 cup raisins (I used white ones)

1 tart green apple, peeled and chopped into large dice

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

2 stalks celery, thinly sliced

1/2 cup toasted nuts (cashews or peanuts, I used walnuts)

In a large bowl, put 4-5 tablespoons mayonnaise. Add 1-2 tablespoons curry to the mayonnaise and mix well. Add the chicken to the curried mayonnaise and mix well.

Start adding the other ingredients and mix well. If it needs more mayo or more curry, add, according to your tastes. Place salad in a bowl that perfectly holds the salad and press in to mold. When ready to serve, invert the bowl onto a decorative plate. Makes 4 servings.

Read Full Post »