Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 8th, 2009

Pineapple stir cake

img_1476

Sometimes you read a recipe and it just hits you in the right spot. You have no idea how it will turn out, but you’re willing to give it your best shot. When I read this recipe, that was my initial reaction. Well, truth be told, I’m glad I trust my instincts. This is one of those easy go-to recipes that is incredibly moist and inviting. It has a rustic appeal to me, and I am happily adding it to my repertoire. Enjoy!

Pineapple stir cake

2 cups unbleached flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 20-ounce can crushed pineapple in juice

1/3 cup oil

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup toasted chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a glass 13×9″ baking dish with nonstick pan spray.

Combine flour, sugars, salt, and baking soda in a large mixing bowl. Add pineapple and its juice, oil, beaten eggs, and vanilla; stir with a wooden spoon. (do not overmix) Fold in the walnuts.

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 35-45 minutes, until the top is nicely browned and a toothpick in center comes out nearly clean. If top is browning too quickly, lay a sheet of foil loosely over the top. Makes 16 servings.

img_1457

Read Full Post »