Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 25th, 2009

img_1514

I got this recipe from a dear friend, who found it on Epicurious. It definitely sounded do-able to me, but it had two ingredients (actually three if you count the butter) that I cannot use – heavy cream and bananas. Did I tell you that I don’t like bananas? Well, anyway, I subbed nondairy creamer for the heavy cream, and instead of a banana, I used a carrot, for a little natural sweetness. This soup was a real taste treat, and surprised us with its great flavors. It satisfies. Enjoy!

One of Each soup

1 large yukon gold potato, peeled and coarsely chopped

1 medium onion, coarsely chopped

1 celery heart (inner pale stalks with leaves), coarsely chopped

1 large apple (preferably Granny Smith), peeled and coarsely chopped

1 carrot, peeled and coarsely chopped

1 pint chicken broth

1/2 cup nondairy creamer

1 tablespoon margarine

1 rounded teaspoon curry powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon freshly chopped chives

Simmer vegetables and fruit in broth in a 3 quart heavy saucepan, covered, until very tender, about 20 minutes. Stir in the creamer, margarine, curry powder, and salt and heat just until hot (do not boil).

Puree soup (I used an immersion blender) until smooth. Serve with sprinkled chives. May be served hot or chilled. Makes 4 servings.

Read Full Post »